New executive ahead of rebuild

5 February 2019

At its meeting last month, the Stretton Park Board of Management elected its new executive team and members are committed to continuing with a rebuild of the aged care facility.

Newly elected Chair, Helen Montague, will lead the way supported by Vice Chair, Terry Donahoe, and re-elected Treasurer, Nick Munro. General Board members are Louise Rys, Katherine Crooke, Lindsay Wigg, Pat Gray, Sue Lawrence and Russell Macqueen.

Mrs Montague takes on the role of Chair following the resignation of Phill Clifford, who, after serving for 14 years, retired in November 2018.

Central Gippsland Health (CGH) continues to manage the Stretton Park Aged Care facility on behalf of the Board of Management and the community, and CGH Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Dr Frank Evans, said it was this partnership that made this not-for-profit aged care facility a success.

Plans for the facility re-build are in full swing and Board members are hoping for a positive outcome from a Federal Government funding application, due to be announced mid-year.

Meanwhile, Dr Evans said the Board of Management, auxiliary and community continued with fundraising and were very appreciative of all local organisations and individuals who had contributed to the fund to date, with $150,000 raised so far.

“St J’s Opportunity Shop in Maffra generously donated $3500 late in 2018 and the American Truck Historical Society presented a cheque for $3710 from its major auction, making it the society’s second donation to the Stretton Park Re-Building Fund,” Dr Evans explained.

“Stretton Park has provided aged care services to the Maffra and district community for over 30 years and it’s an asset we certainly want to ensure grows with our every changing community now and well into the future.”



We would like to hear your feedback through the community portal.